Divergent

Divergent Cover

Unlike our own world, Divergent revolves around a dystopian society in which is separated into five factions called Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the intelligent), Candor (the honest) and Dauntless (the brave). Beatrice Prior is amongst the number of sixteen year olds who must now choose which faction she wants to belong in. This book is centered upon her choices and how it brings about change within her and her surroundings.

Divergent was highly raved about before I could even get my hands on the book. However, I wanted to give it some time before the hype chilled a bit. I didn’t want to get a biased reading experience through the eyes of the many readers who hailed upon the existence of the novel. I must say, when I did start reading, I was immensely absorbed into the plot of the book that I forgot to do other errands.

Although Divergent doesn’t live up to some of the most well written fast paced novels such as Dan Brown’s the Da Vinci Code, I was a great deal surprised by how Veronica Roth managed to keep the plot tight and interesting. Roth didn’t include unnecessary amounts of detail which would deviate from the focus of the main story.

Another reason why this book gets thumbs up is due to the exceptional character build up. Unlike many of characters out there whom sadly remain as a lifeless block of words, I enjoyed the uniqueness to each character in the book. Of course, Beatrice appealed to me most, not only because she is the main character, but because she is so fierce and outgoing. She is definitely not one of those shy typical teenagers, yet she wasn’t one of those indestructible characters either. Her flaws and her desires and her pain… it made it effortless to visualize her.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

Lillian K.

Positive Feedback!

